my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  FAE Tech-Forum Online   » Intel Pentium4 Motherboards   » TH7-RAID / TH7-II RAID   » Am I frying my system?

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Am I frying my system?
darline
Member # 3614

Rate Member

posted November 27, 2001 19:57     Profile for darline   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Since I am relatively new at the overclocking game, could someone please tell me if I am doing any damage to my system. I am running:

TH7-II Raid
1.7 CPU running @ 2013
640 MB RDram
IBM GXP 75 75GB Drive
IBM DLA 33GB Drive
WD 45 GB Drive
Soundblaster Live 5.1 Platinum
Xtasy Everything Video Card
Pioneer DVD
Plexwriter 12/10/32A CD Burner

I have undated the MB bios to the latest offered on the ABIT FTP and updated the Highpoint driver to the latest offered by Highpoint. Running Windows XP. One concern is that I am running voltage at 2.15 which is registering at 2.05 on Motherboard Manager 5.1.0.2. The CPU Temp is running at approx 104f to 115f, and I am running the Sunflower heatsink and fan. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks...

Posts: 10 | From: Herndon Virginia | Registered: Oct 2001  |  IP: Logged
clee
Member # 3878

Member Rated:

posted November 27, 2001 23:15     Profile for clee   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
I think you are running a little bit high on vcore. I used to run my P4 1.8 @ 2178 ( fsb = 121 ) with vcore
set at 2.10. I suggest you run Prime95 ( it's the best CPU torture test and guarantee to raise the temperature by a few notches) non-stop for at least 12 hours, if it doesn't fail, then you've got a pretty stable system.
I used to have the AVC for a while and I think it's the best air cooler available follows the MCX478 which is 3 times the price.