my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  FAE Tech-Forum Online   » Intel Pentium4 Motherboards   » TH7-RAID / TH7-II RAID   » Newbie @ Raid

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Newbie @ Raid
hle817
Member # 4677

Rate Member

posted November 29, 2001 15:33     Profile for hle817   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi all!

I'm new to this Raid stuff and would like to ask a few questions that maybe you all can help out on. I just got a TH7 Raid board and would like to run either Raid 0 or 0+1 with Windows 2000.

Here are my Questions:

1. Can the drives be partitioned? On my single 60 gig hd, I used to partition it into a 10 gig Cdrive and 50 gig Ddrive (I put Win2k on C: and all my junk that I want to keep on D:, that way I could do clean OS installs on C: and retain all my stuff on D . I will be running 2 60 gig drives for the Raid. Can I have the raid act the same as the single 2 partition drive? (I guess the end result I'm looking for here is a Raid setup partitioned into a C: and D

2. Do I have to install Windows 2000 first, then setup the Raid or can I setup Raid first, then install Windows 2000?

3. Any recommendations on Raid 0 vs. Raid 0+1.

Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thx.

GeekMaster
Member # 3228

Member Rated:

posted November 29, 2001 23:14     Profile for GeekMaster   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hello Mr Raid Striper!

The Raid striping is done during the Power on self test.
You will have to stripe the whole drive as one drive. BUT, Then with F-Disk, or partition magic you can make as many little drives you want.
Keep in mind though, If you change anything on the raid stripe - Like the Stripe type 0,0+1,1 then you will loose all information on all drives.

You stripe 1st then install windows. that is by far the easiest I have found.

The GeekMaster