my profile | register | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  FAE Tech-Forum Online   » AMD Motherboards   » KT7 / KT7-RAID / KT7A / KT7A-RAID / KT7E   » Win98SE Unable to Detect HDDs Properly

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Win98SE Unable to Detect HDDs Properly
Vid Baby
Member # 3793

Rate Member

posted October 22, 2001 11:04     Profile for Vid Baby   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hi All,

I am new to this, so please bare with me and this long question.

I have just upgraded to a KT7A-Raid V1.2 Motherboard with a 1.4 GHz TBird and 2 x 256 MB of SDRAM.

The system was able to boot up fine and Win98SE was able to reconfigure itself and ask for all the necessary drivers.

I now have 2 main problems:

1. Although the Bios accurately detects my HDDs on IDE1 as "Quantum Fireball CX6.4A A3F.0B00" as the Master and "IBM-DAQA-33240 R6ORA53A" as the Slave, Windows identifies them both as Type 47 instead. The strange thing is that although the Quantum is capable of UDMA, I cannot enable DMA in Windows. As a result I can only achieve read speeds of about 2 Mb/s in HD Tach benchmarks. The IBM HDD, on the other hand, is only capable of PIO 4 but in Windows I can enable it to use DMA and I can achieve read speeds of about 12 Mb/s. Does anybody know how I can get Windows to identify my HDDs correctly and use them at their full potential? By the way, the PC sometimes reboots itself when I attempt to benchmark the HDDs. I encounter non of the above problems with my other 2 HDDs - one each on IDE3 and IDE4.